|archive
|notes
|guestbook
|e~mail
|profile
|diaryland

|The Swing of Things:  08/15/2004 - 3:39 AM

"Oh, when she glows in the dark
And I'm weak by the sight
Of this breathtaking beauty
In which I can hide
Oh, there's a world full out there
Of people I fear
But given time I'll get into
The swing of things
Yes, when she glows in the dark and
I'm struck by the sight
I know that I'll need this
the rest of my life...
What have I done?
What lies I have told
I've played games with the ones
That rescued my soul
Oh, have I come to the point
Where I'm losing the grip?
Or is there still time to get into
The swing of things?"

~Morten Harkett

The above song
a favorite since childhood
since before I understood
the gravity of the words
played ad nauseum as of late
as I've been wondering
how much time I have
any of us have
to get things right
to make a difference
to mark this little corner of the world.
We all believe in tomorrow
as if it's guaranteed.
Everyone dies believing the next sunrise will come.
But at some point
we're tricked
the rug is pulled out from under
the previous dawn was the last
and it's not realized
until it's already gone
until it all fades to nothing.

All we have is now
and memories of yesterdays.

It's only this moment
and the silent prayer for the next
What is necessary
or simply desired
until that final dawn?
Love, joy, knowledge, acceptance, understanding, compassion, hope
How do I obtain those things?
How do I keep them if I get them?
How do I make myself right with the world
in the short time remaining?
Is there any such thing
or is it just a matter of surviving
and distracting ourselves
until neither is an option any longer?

yesterday| |tomorrow


Job Opening, Likely Temp Work - 11/30/2005
Damn It - 10/08/2005
True Words For Too Many - 10/07/2005
A Drop of Golden Sun - 10/07/2005
Fraud - 10/01/2005


|firinne|
all content is mine. ask before using.